User Tools

Site Tools


Sidebar

administration:data_synchronization

Data Synchronization in EPM Pulse Online

APPLIES TO: EPM Pulse Online


Data Synchronization Account

EPM Pulse for Project Online does not work with your data directly, it works with data snapshots instead, because Project Online does not allow to build reports against “live” data with a reasonable performance.

EPM Pulse performs data synchronization on a daily basis by default, however, the schedule is adjustable and allows you to set up to 10 data synchronizations per day.

:!: User account that is used for Data Synchronization, should meet the following requirements:

  1. Should have Site Collection Administrator permissions on the site where EPM Pulse Online app is installed.
  2. In case of SharePoint Permission Mode: should be a member of Administrators for Project Web App group.
  3. In case of Project Server Permission Mode: should be assigned to the Administrators security group. To add the user account to this group navigate to PWA Settings → Manage Users → Edit User: User Name → Add the 'Administrators' group to the 'Security Group' section.
    Additionally, ensure that the user account is also added to the Web Administrators (Project Web App Synchronized) SharePoint group.
  4. Should have Project Web App license.
  5. Should have access to Project Server Reporting Service.



:!: Please note that permission changes performed in the PWA to the user account that is used as Sync Account are not applied instantly. It is highly recommended to wait for 1-5 minutes after adding the sync account to the required group. To verify if the sync account has necessary permissions, please navigate to Data Management:

Then click ‘Manage’ to manage connection:

Next click ‘Verify’ button:

Once the changes are applied you will see the following message: ‘Congratulations! You have all required permissions for EPM Pulse!’.

Please refresh the page, to eliminate the warning ‘Unable to load data from Project Online - Sync Account does not have permissions to perform data synchronization. Read more and Update Connection’.



Data Synchronization Schedule

In order to setup Data Synchronization Schedule:

  1. Select the Data Management option from the EPM Pulse Settings menu.



  2. Click Manage button next to the data connection for which you want to setup the sync schedule.



  3. Sync Schedule section allows to set a day of the week and time when synchronization should automatically run.



  4. By default, sync is scheduled to be performed everyday at 2 AM.

    You can adjust this timing according to your preferences, by removing days of the week or scheduling additional data synchronizations to be performed during the day.

    EPM Pulse allows to schedule up to 10 syncs per day for one data connection.



  5. After Data Synchronization Schedule setup is complete, click Save button next to the data connection you are currently managing.





On-demand Data Synchronization

EPM Pulse also allows to trigger synchronization manually in case you need the most recent data right now.

In order to trigger synchronization manually:

  1. Select the Data Management option from the EPM Pulse Settings menu.



  2. Click Refresh Data button next to the data connection for which you need the most recent data.





Update Synchronization Account

In order to perform data synchronization EPM Pulse uses one of the accounts with administrative access rights from your PWA.
By default EPM Pulse uses an account of a user who installed EPM Pulse application to PWA. You can change the account if needed (e.g. user was removed\disabled, access rights were changed, etc.).

To refresh or change the account perform the following:

  1. Select the Data Management option from the EPM Pulse Settings menu.



  2. Click Manage button next to the data connection for which you want to check the permissions for your account.



    :!: NOTE
    - If you want to refresh Data Synchronization Account, you need to be logged in to your PWA using the account that is set as Data Sync Account in EPM Pulse.

    - If you want to change Data Synchronization Account, you need to sign out from your PWA first.

  3. Press the Refresh button in the Project Web App details section.



  4. If you are not logged in to your PWA, you will be asked to enter the credentials for the sync account.

    Fill in all the necessary information to continue.



  5. Press Trust it button if you confirm all the permissions.



    If you want to refresh Data Synchronization Account and you are already logged in to your PWA, you will be taken directly to the “Do you trust EPM Pulse for Project Online” screen with a list of permissions requested by EPM Pulse app.
    Press Trust it button if you confirm all the permissions.

  6. Press Verify button in the Project Web App details section to see if you have all required permissions for EPM Pulse.



  7. After refreshing the permissions for your account or changing your account, click Save button next to the data connection you are currently managing.



:!: Please note that each time you set up an account (on installation of the app or manually), EPM Pulse will be granted with access to PWA reporting for 3 months. If a user, whose account is designated as a sync account, visits the EPM Pulse during these 3 months, then sync account will be updated automatically, otherwise you will need to update it manually following the instructions above.



User Synchronization

:!: NOTE: User Synchronization is available in a full license only.

User Synchronization is performed as part of the Data Synchronization process, therefore, for correct User Sync, synchronization account should have access to each of the groups that are defined in the User Management section for each of EPM Pulse roles.
I.e. this user account should be either a group member or group owner or “Group Settings” should be set to Everyone:

By default EPM Pulse performs synchronization using an account of a user who installed EPM Pulse application to the PWA.

:!: NOTE: When you assign EPM Pulse role to a group user, all users assigned to the corresponding group will be automatically added to User Management after the data synchronization.

In case the number of users in the group exceeds the number of users allowed by license, EPM Pulse will continue functioning, but with a notification about license violation.

To remove notifications unassign some users or groups to match the license limits and run synchronization again.


administration/data_synchronization.txt · Last modified: 2018/06/04 03:41 by Anita Boiadzhian